South West States Declare June 12 Work Free Day In Respect Of MKO Abiola

(This page may contain affiliate links. Read my full disclosure.)

The Governors of Osun, Oyo, Ondo, Ekiti, Lagos and Ogun states, Rauf Aregbesola, Abiola Ajimobi, Oluwarotimi Akeredolu, Ayodele Fayose, Akinwunmi Ambode and Ibikunle Amosun respectively,

Read Also: Jennifer Lawrence’s Private Plane Makes Emergency Landing Due to Double-Engine Failure

have all declared today, June 12 as a work-free day in honour of the winner of the June 12, 1993 presidential election, the late Chief Moshood Kashimawo Olawale Abiola.

Governor Ambode said the time has come for Nigerians to go beyond the commemoration and entrench a viable democracy as a way to immortalise the late presumed winner of June 12, 1993 Presidential election, Chief M.K.O Abiola through the practice of true federalism and conduct of credible and fair elections.

He said: “June 12, 1993 is a day we must not forget in the annals of our democratic history. Our present democratic experience may still be far from the ideal but we must all make concerted efforts to entrench fiscal federalism which is the only way to achieve true nationhood.”

He also assured that his administration remains committed to the ideals of June 12 by carrying out people-oriented programmes across the state and making life more comfortable for the people.


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.