home Latest News Three Scientists Win 2016 Nobel Prize In Physics

Three Scientists Win 2016 Nobel Prize In Physics

The Royal Academy of Sciences announced on Tuesday in Stockholm that the 2016 Nobel Prize in Physics is being shared by three scientists.

It explained that the Nobel Prize in Physics 2016 was divided, with one half awarded to David J. Thouless, the other half jointly to F. Duncan M. Haldane and J. Michael Kosterlitz “for theoretical discoveries of topological phase transitions and topological phases of matter”.

READ ALSO: CCT Convicts Former Minister Of Niger Detla Affairs Godsday Orubebe‎ Of False Assets Declaration

The Academy also announced that the prize amount is $0.93 million and would be split proportionally between the three winners.

Meanwhile, one of the winners, Haldane, said he was “very surprised” at the news.
He. added that he was glad that their discoveries found something many previously overlooked and that they unveiled more possibilities for looking for new materials.

READ ALSO: Great News!!! Scientists Have Finally Discovered A Cure For HIV

Haldane emphasised that series of works are still ongoing.


News Agency

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.