Gernot Rohr To Call Up Austria-Based Youngsters Ahead Of Afcon Qualifiers (Full List)

(This page may contain affiliate links. Read my full disclosure.)

Gernot Rohr has named his squad for next month’s high-profile international games against the Elephants and Carthage Eagles

Gernot Rohr: Nigeria coach disappointed over Argentina loss -

After nearly a year without international football for Nigeria, coach Gernot Rohr and his wards return to the field again in October with friendly matches against Cote d’Ivoire and Tunisia.

Rohr has a clear idea of what he wants to accomplish with those two games, especially with Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers the month after, and very little game time to call upon thanks to the coronavirus pandemic.

Rohr told ESPN: “First [goal] is to renew our team spirit, to rebuild our good playing of offensive football like we did in the last games before the pandemic came, scoring a lot of goals.

“I am watching also for progress in the defensive work, not to get all the time a goal and then you have to run off the time to fight to win the game. We want to improve in our defensive work.

“There are some tactics also I want to see again. We played a different system in the second half in Lesotho. Do you remember we had the 3-5-2? We had also a 4-4-2 and we had this 4-2-3-1 sometimes.

“So, it is necessary to find quickly again, our organization.”



Dele Alampasu (FK Ventspils, Latvia); Matthew Yakubu (SKF Sered, Slovakia); Maduka Okoye (Sparta Rotterdam, The Netherlands)



Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Leon Balogun (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Chidozie Awaziem (FC Boavista, Portugal); William Ekong (Udinese FC, Italy); Olaoluwa Aina (Fulham FC, England); Jamilu Collins (SC Paderborn 07, Germany); Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal)



Mikel Agu (Vitoria Guimaraes, Portugal); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Frank Onyeka (FC Midtjylland, Denmark); Oghenekaro Etebo (Galatasary SK, Turkey); Samson Tijani (TSV Hartberg, Austria)



Ahmed Musa (Al Nassr, Saudi Arabia); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Victor Osimhen (SSC Napoli, Italy); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Cyriel Dessers (KRC Genk, Belgium); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Samuel Kalu (Girondins Bordeaux, France); Chidera Ejuke (CSKA Moscow, Russia)

To Top
%d bloggers like this: