Latest News

US Govt Imposes $15,000 Visa Bond On Visitors From African Countries (See Full List)

The United States government under the leadership of Donald Trump has imposed a new $15,000 Visa bond for visitors from 15 African countries.

The new temporary travel rule comes into effect from the 24th of December, 2020.

The Trump administration introduced the visa bond pilot programme on Monday for B-1 visas (for business travellers) and B-2 visas (for tourists) and it is expected to run for six months — December 24, 2020 to June 24, 2021.

The visa bond rule targets countries whose nationals had an “overstay rate” of 10% or higher in 2019 and will now be required to pay a refundable bond of $5,000, $10,000 or $15,000.

READ ALSO: UK Lawmaker Kate Osamor “We Must Stop Funding Corrupt Nigerian Security Agencies” (video)

While those nations had higher rates of overstays, they sent relatively few travellers to the US, Reuters news agency reports.

The African countries affected are;

Angola, Burkina Faso, Chad, DRC, Djibouti, Eritrea, the Gambia, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Libya, Mauritania, Sudan, Sao Tome and Principe, Cape Verde, Burundi.

President-elect Joe Biden, a Democrat, has pledged to reverse many of the Republican president’s immigration policies, but untangling hundreds of changes could take months or years.

Advertise with us

Most Popular

To Top
%d bloggers like this: